saturday in LA

img_0005.jpgafter my flight at the ass-crack of dawn, I arrived at LAX around 8:30. made my way to the rental car, and was “ready for my close-up”. I navigated my way past Sepulveda Ave, decided to eschew the 405, and take surface streets instead. I realized that I had awoken at 3am to catch my 6:30 flight outta SFO , and my stomach reminded me it was feeding time.

After a few random turns, I came across a diner of sorts, called Grinder. on Sepulveda at Westchester. exactly what I needed. breakfast consisted of 2 eggs, turkey sausage patty and hash browns. the breakfast of the champions. all for about $6.

I got back into my Avis rental car. (Pontiac G6. with sunroof!). sweet ride. it was only about 10:30am. the clouds were lifting, and I head for the freakshow at Venice Beach.

img_0009.jpg

about an hour later, (I got lost in Century City a few times) after walking through the overpasses and the canals, I arrive at the boardwalk, or the concrete. gawked at the meat heads at Muscle Beach for a little bit, bought a new pair of aviator shades, and then settled in to increase my chances of melanoma for a few hours. (of course I wore sunscreen!)

Frank called me when she got in. she wants to freshen up a little. we agree to meet up later. a few hours go by, and we meet up at our hotel on Sunset. Don’t get too excited. it wasn’t theStandard or the Mondrian or anything.

We decide to get some food somewhere in WestHollywood. driving around a little, we stumble upon Basix Cafe, where I had my first sub-lebrity sighting: Miss Jay from America’s Next Top Model. I know. you can hardly contain your excitement. but I have better sightings, during this trip, really!

after lunch we hit Melrose Ave. I got a belt buckle and a leather wrist cuff, and Frank got a pillbox from some vendor who set up shop in the parking lot next to a store called SLOW (?).

We hit Wasteland, and Crossroads over there, too, and hung out for a while, got a coffee, and watched the show of passersby on Melrose.

Went to dinner that night at Katsu-Ya in Studio City. (Is that the Valley?) kick ass, creative sushi. specials were a crispy riceball something, scallops with foie gras, some spicy stuff, etc. etc. yummers. me and Frank split a large Sapporo.

Met up with Eegs after dinner. Tried to go to Winston’s, but the bouncer kept explaining the drama. “You guys put me in a really awkward situation here, showing up at midnight on Saturday expecting to get in. I’ve got larger private parties coming and I’m almost at capacity. I can’t keep the bar empty until midnight and then everyone arrives and expects to get in…” whatever. save the drama for the soap operas, Homeboy.

We ended up going to Jones, where Frank was promptly hit on my some loser 40something who claimed to be Bing Crosby’s grandson. LAMERS.

wed 20 June 23:52

Was in LA for a few days with Frank. ate a lot. drank somewhat. drove everywhere. so very LA.

on Sunday, went to

Grace. celebrities. sub-lebrities. TheStandard. crunch. conversation snippets. Caffe Primo. Il Sole. stalkerazzi.

Leave a Reply

